WIAW – I’ll bring the falafel and flapjack :)

Firstly, I’d like to begin by saying ‘hi’ to all the lovely new subscribers to my blog and to everyone that’s left me comments this week.  I’ve loved reading every single one of them… so please keep them coming! 

So, how has your Wednesday been?  Hope it’s been a good one for you!

My Wednesday has been a day of two halves… a morning of frustration sorry, read that as ‘challenges’ and ‘opportunities’ brought about by my attempts to embrace technology (unfortunately it just doesn’t want to embrace me back 😦 ), followed by a blissful afternoon spent with the children in my meditation classes.  Today they truly were my ‘little saviours’ 🙂

Since this post is dedicated to the WIAW party, I’ll post later about the other events that unfolded this Wednesday.

For those of you that are new to my blog, I’ll quickly explain what the WIAW party is.  Basically, it’s a virtual party hosted by the lovely Jenn over at Peas & Crayons, where we share what we eat each Wednesday.  This event not only helps us to keep track of our own eating habits, but it’s also greatly inspiring.  Last week I book-marked so many gorgeous veggie recipes, that I reckon I could try out new meals each night for the next year!

So, here we go… here’s what I ate this Wednesday:

Breakfast
Cup of black coffee (I would have chosen the hot water and lemon, but we’ve run out of lemon.  Great excuse eh 😉 )

After the school run, I made myself a huge bowl of porridge, made with Flahavan’s organic jumbo oats, Alpro fortified soya milk, with a sprinkling of  cinnamon, chopped brazil nuts, pecan nuts, ground linseed, goji berries, and a drizzle of Crazy Jack’s organic brown rice syrup.

Goji berries are a recent discovery for me, and I’m absolutely loving them!  I’ve also just found out that they’re one of those extremely nutrient-dense ‘super’ foods.  According to the write-up on Detox Your World, they contain all 8 essential amino acids (so they’re a great protein supplement); they’re a rich source of carotenoids (containing more beta-carotene than carrots); they contain vitamins B1, B2, B6, and vitamin E; and up to 21 trace minerals (the main ones being zinc, iron, copper, calcium, germanium, selenium, and phosphorus).  If you haven’t tried them, you must give them a go!  As well as adding them to porridge, I’ve also been putting them in my energy bars, flapjacks and raw chocolates.

For breakfast, I also had a large glass of Innocent smoothie.  This smoothie is seen as a luxury in our house, but it’s half price in Tesco at the moment so I bought two 🙂

Lunch
For lunch, I had a large bowl of lightly spiced parsnip soup, leftover from Sunday.  This is one of the family’s all-time favourite soups and Lil’ L loves it!   We lightly spice it with garam masala and a sprinkling of smoked paprika. It’s a great soup for Autumn!

Snacks
After school, we had a piece of cherry and coconut flapjack.  I first made this flapjack for the Macmillan Cancer fund-raiser event and it was a big hit!  It was the first goodie that sold out, and we received lots of great feedback and recipe requests.  I’ve finally got round to writing up the recipe and posting it.  Sorry it’s taken so long! 

People were surprised to hear that I don’t include any processed fat or oil in the flapjack.  It’s literally made with oats, dried cherries, coconut, a dash of vanilla extract and Sweet Freedom fruit syrup.  The fact that it’s low GI and low fat makes it a great snack as it helps sustain energy levels.  The dried cherries could be swapped for any dried fruits.  I often use goji berries (no surprise there) and dates.  If you try any other dried fruit combinations, please let me know as I’m always looking for inspiration.

Dinner
For dinner tonight we had falafel.  For the past year, I’ve been playing around with my falafel recipe and I finally think I’ve got it right…. not too spicy for Lil’ L, but still plenty of delicious flavour. 

I served the falafel with houmous, black olives, tzatziki (made with Alpro plain soy yoghurt), raw veggies, salad leaves, pieces of wholemeal pitta bread and wholegrain couscous (my boys eat so much!).  

By the time I served dinner, there was no natural light left, so here’s a shot of the same meal that I served last month.

Right, that’s me done!  Time to head over to Jenn’s party and get inspired 🙂

Happy WIAW everyone! 🙂

5 Comments

Filed under Baking & Desserts, Breakfast and Elevenses, Dinners

5 responses to “WIAW – I’ll bring the falafel and flapjack :)

  1. A Tablespoon of Liz

    Falafel is one of my favorite things ever, and yours looks delicious!

  2. Hi Sharon 🙂 What a yummy WIAW! Eveything from your breakfast to you dinner looks absolutely delicious! Its so funny how protein-packed goji berries are! Who would have guessed that!?
    I havent had parsnip soup before, but I love that kind of blened root fruit soups, so I know I would have loved this!
    Falafel-dinner sounds good too! Falafels are one of my favorit foods!
    Havea lovely day 🙂

  3. I love gojis, they are probably my favourite dried fruit! Your morning porridge sounds delicious too 🙂

  4. Oh I love falafel…a huge weakness for me (although it’s good for you…so not truly a weakness). That flapjack looks quite tasty, here a flapjack is what we call a pancake (so I was a taken aback when I saw the photo).
    Looks like your eats were lovely even if there were some techinical difficulties…I look forward to more on that later 🙂
    Happy Wednesday Sharon!

I'd love to hear from you!

