WIAW – Pancakes, Dhal, Pasta, Flapjack & Yoghurt Apple Surprise

Yesterday, after school, Lil’ L and I went apple picking down the orchard. Well ‘orchard’ is a bit of a grand name for one apple tree and one plum tree but, to us, it will always be known as our little orchard. 😉 Next year, I’m determined to plant some more fruit trees. (I’m quite fancying a greengage tree at the moment… I ate some of my sister’s greengages at the weekend and they were gorgeous!)

Last night, I made a large batch of apple sauce so I could surprise Lil’ L this morning by cooking one of his favourite breakfasts… apple cinnamon pancakes. They made the house smell wonderful! Lil’ L is a big pancake monster and he ate 3 large pancakes and I had a couple. The remaining batter is stored in the fridge and I’ll cook M a couple of pancakes for his supper tonight.

These pancakes are made with wholemeal flour, oats, baking powder, apple sauce, fortified soya milk, vanilla extract, and a little water. We love to serve them with a sprinkling of ground flaxseed and a drizzling of Sweet Freedom fruit sweetener or agave syrup.

For lunch, I ate the dhal with coconut and butternut squash left over from Monday’s nights’ dinner. This is one of our all-time favourite meals and costs only a few pence to make.  The recipe can be found here.

For a snack, we had a piece of home-made goji berry flapjack, which contains no fat and no refined sugar. Here’s the recipe.

On Wednesday’s, Lil’ L has his swimming lesson and I usually don’t start cooking dinner until we get back home. This means we eat dinner around 7.15pm then have very little time for a sit down and bed time stories.  THIS week, I’ve actually got myself organised and made dinner ahead of time. There’s a first time for everything! 😉

In the pantry, I came across a packet of long-life tofu, which I bought in France this summer. It’s made in Germany and I must see if we can buy it here in the UK. It’s got a very firm texture, which makes it suitable for pasta dishes as well as noodles.

For tonight’s dinner, I’ve chosen to make a simple 6-veg pasta. The tofu was chopped and drizzled in a little soy sauce for flavour. For veggies, I used a large carrot, a handful of mushrooms (both whizzed in the mini chopper), some courgette (zucchini), celery and red pepper (all finely chopped). (I would have used broccoli but we’ve run out. 😦 )  While the wholewheat penne was cooking, I added the veggies to a large saucepan, along with the tofu pieces, a squirt of tomato puree and a jar of Seeds of Change organic tomato and basil sauce.  When the pasta was ready, it was added to the veggie sauce mixture. After allowing it to cool slightly, a teaspoon of Good Hemp hempseed oil was mixed into each pasta portion (for an omega-3 boost) and garnished with a sprinkling of pine nuts and chopped basil. A super quick (15 minute), delicious and nutritious meal. I’m sure the boys will love it. 🙂

I’ve also made dessert ahead of time! Gosh I’m on fire today. 😉  I had this idea of layering Alpro Natural Soya Yoghurt, home-made apple sauce and sprinkling goji berries, dates, nuts and seeds on top (all whizzed together in the mini chopper). It looks quite cool.

If anyone can think of a good name for this dessert, please let me know! The best I can come up with is ‘yoghurt apple surprise’ which is a bit dull and predictable. Your suggestions would be greatly appreciated! 🙂

Right time to head over to Jen’s party and see what everyone else is bringing. Happy WIAW!

14 Comments

Filed under Baking & Desserts, Breakfast and Elevenses, Dinners

14 responses to “WIAW – Pancakes, Dhal, Pasta, Flapjack & Yoghurt Apple Surprise

  1. Yum! That pasta looks delish!

  2. Joni

    How about ‘Apple Goji Yogi’ for the dessert name

  3. I love dhal – I’m definitely going to have a look at that recipe.
    Your dessert it a really good idea – it really jazzes up boring soya yoghurt and looks so pretty!

  4. Everything looks wonderful, and the dessert is beautiful. I like the suggestion of Goji Yogi…very fun (I wish I had some here to sample). Pancakes are a huge favorite at my house, we actually had some this morning, with chocolate chips. However I think my favorite item you have here is the pasta (I am a freak for pasta). I will have to try putting the oil in with it next time to boost the omega-3….maybe then I can move away from suppplements if I am putting it directly in the food.

  5. Happy WIAW!!!!!! Thanks for the dhal recipe! Will def be making it super soon =) its one of my fav things to order at restaurants! ❤

  6. what a great food-day! and your pancakes look so much prettier than mine :/ still working on vegan pancakes, somehow they just don’t want to work out the way I would like them to…

  7. All your eats sound sooooo good!! I bet those flapjacks are delicious. I’m really jealous of the pancakes since I never have time to make them. The dhal sounds fabulous too – I’ve never made one before!

  8. I love all things apple! The pancakes and yoghurt apple surprise sound amazing!!

  9. survivingcandyland

    That dessert looks soo delicious. I want one. Apples are so good.

I'd love to hear from you!

