WIAW – Moroccan-Inspired Giant Couscous

What another glorious day!  I hear we’re in the midst of a mini heatwave. This weekend I actually bought some winter boots and woollies. That’s so typical! I walked round Bath in the new boots yesterday and I thought my feet were going to melt off!

Anyway I better get myself over to Jen’s WIAW party. I’m sure I’m late already. Here’s what I ate this Wednesday:

Breakfast
Too hot for porridge today, so I grabbed a few ingredients out of the pantry and made some muesli.  In the bowl went a handful each of barley flakes, spelt flakes, chopped dates, goji berries (still loving those 🙂 ), chopped brazil nuts, flaked almonds, ground flaxseed and a large sprinkling of cinnamon. It was delicious! And IMHO, better than the shop bought mueslis.

While I normally have Alpro’s Fortified Soya Milk on my breakfast, just for a change I thought I’d try some ‘Good Hemp’ milk. It was surprisingly nice! It’s already sweetened (with grape juice extract) so I didn’t need any extra sweetener on my muesli. Hemp ‘milk’ is a natural source of omega 3 and the Good Hemp version (which I bought from Harvest in Bath) is fortified with calcium and vitamin D. I’ll definitely use this milk again.

Lunch
I needed a super quick lunch as I had to dash off to school to teach my meditation class.  I had four Scottish oatcakes, covered in roasted tomato humous and black olives. I normally make my own oatcakes, but the Nairn’s organic oatcakes are on special offer in Waitrose at the moment (63p a box I believe). It would probably cost more to make my own!

Snacks
When I got in from school, I ate a (large) bowl of Eve’s (apple) pudding, made with apples out of the orchard. 🙂

Dinner
For dinner tonight, I’ll be finishing up the leftovers from last night. I absolutely love giant couscous but have never found it in the shops… until last Friday when I spotted it in the ‘Love Life’ range in Waitrose. I was really looking forward to trying it out

Ta da! Moroccan-inspired giant couscous:

Here’s how I made it:

I filled a roasting tin with cubes of butternut squash, a tin of chickpeas (drained and patted dry on kitchen paper), a chopped red pepper and clove of crushed garlic. I drizzled over a little olive oil and thoroughly mixed it. This went in the oven at 200C for 20 minutes or so.

Meanwhile, I simmered the couscous in some vegetable stock for about 8 minutes. I then drained it and mixed in some spices (I used a Moroccan blend that I bought in France this summer, but turmeric, cumin and coriander would do the job).

When the roasted veggies were ready, I mixed them in with the couscous along with some chopped apricots, coriander, flaked almonds, and a drizzle of balsamic vinegar.

The couscous was gorgeous! I just love the texture of the giant version. It’s very different to the usual type of couscous.

Last night, we served it with a bowl of crispy kale (kale chips) and some segments of toasted seeded flour tortilla.  It was a great meal and I’m really looking forward to having the leftover 4th portion tonight.

Right, time to pop over to the party and see what everyone else is bringing. Hope you can join me there xx  😉

4 Comments

Filed under Breakfast and Elevenses, Dinners

4 responses to “WIAW – Moroccan-Inspired Giant Couscous

  1. All your food looks delicious, especially the giant cous-cous dish. I buy it from Sainsbury’s and I love it! It’s so quick and easy to cook and I love the taste and texture.
    I just bought some Good Hemp milk, but I haven’t tried it yet. I’m glad to hear it’s nice 🙂

    • Thanks Sarah!
      It’s good to know that Sainsbury’s sell giant couscous as well. I’ll have to check out the Bath store.
      I hope you like the Good Hemp milk. I thought it was pretty good. 🙂

  2. Hi 🙂
    Thank you for your comment on my blog! Im always happy to meet new chocolate-lovers 😉
    Your food looks so delicious!! Black olives is one of my favorit thing!! Must eat some soon, its been too long;)
    I look forward to follow your blog!

  3. crispy kale…YUM! My absolute obsession.

I'd love to hear from you!

