WIAW Party – I’ll bring noodles

Wahay! I’ve finally worked out how to get the technical bits working so I can join in the ‘What I Ate Wednesday’ virtual party hosted by Peas and Crayons.  Is it acceptable to drool over pictures of other people’s dinner or is that a bit weird?  Okay it might be weird but I doubt that I’m the only one doing this. 😉  It you fancy trying out some new meals, check out the WIAW party. It’s really inspiring! 

Anyhow, here’s my contribution to the WIAW event. It’s actually what I ate on Tuesday but I think that still counts. 🙂

Breakfast:
A bowl of porridge, made with organic jumbo oats, fortified soya milk, water, lots of cinnamon, chopped pecan nuts, almonds, and brazil nuts, a sprinkling of goji berries (one of my latest passions) and a sprinkling of ground flaxseed for an omega-3 boost. 

Sorry the photo's not great but I was starving and couldn't wait to eat it!

I’m a huge fan of porridge and eat it most mornings.  By far my favourite oats are Flahavan’s Organic Jumbo Oats.  The description on the back of the packet says that the Flahavans have been milling oats for over 200 years at their family mill beside the river Mahon, at Kilmacthomas, Co Waterford, Ireland.    This conjures up so many wonderful images in my head. 🙂

The porridge was followed by a cup of nettle tea.  I absolutely adore this stuff!  Apparently it’s very good for you too.  

I'm sure you don't need to see a photo of nettle tea but I bought this mug the other day and justified the cost by telling myself that I NEEDED it for my blog 😉

Lunch:
It was such a cold, rainy day that I was looking forward to polishing off a bowl of watercress soup (left over from the weekend), with some toasted pumpkin seeds sprinkled on top.  This is Lil’ L’s all-time favourite soup.  It’s a great way to get kids to eat watercress as it has a lovely mild flavour in soup, compared to its raw peppery flavour.
 

Dinner:
I had to make a quick dinner as I was going out, so we had oriental-style vegetable noodles. I love stir fries as they are super quick and easy to make, as well as being extremely tasty. Lil’ L described this meal as ‘noodley doodely delish’. 🙂

Here’s how I made the noodles:

Serves: 4
Preparation: 10 minutes
Cooking time: 15 minutes

Ingredients

2 tbsp olive oil
1 onion, chopped
2 garlic cloves, crushed
1 tbsp fresh or frozen root ginger, grated
2 carrots, chopped into thin julienne strips
250g / 9oz / 3½ cups pak choi, shredded
100g / 3½oz / 1½ cups small broccoli florets
90g / 3oz / ½ cup Chinese or oyster mushrooms (optional)
1 red pepper, sliced
175ml / 6fl oz / 3/4 cup vegetable stock
2 tbsp reduced salt soy sauce
2 tbsp cashew nut butter
½ tsp agave syrup (you can use any sweetener, to taste)
27g / 1oz / ¼ cup unsalted cashew nuts
4 tsp hempseed oil (optional).
300g / 10½oz wholegrain noodles (we used brown rice noodles)

Method

  1. Heat the oil in a wok. Stir fry the onion, garlic and ginger on a medium heat for 3 minutes. Add the remaining vegetables and stir-fry for a further 2 minutes.
  2. Mix in the vegetable stock, soy sauce, sweetener and cashew nut butter and cashew nuts. Cover and gently simmer for 5 minutes.
  3. Meanwhile, cook the noodles for 5 minutes in boiling water. Drain, rinse in cold water, add to the wok and mix thoroughly. Arrange the noodles in four bowls. Allow to cool slightly, then mix in 1 tsp of hempseed oil into each bowl for an omega-3 boost.

For children that are not keen on big, chunky vegetables, chop them finely or whiz them in a mini chopper or food processor. Pak choi is a great vegetable for children as it blends very well into the sauce and noodles.

Dessert:
For dessert, we had some of our plum and blackberry yoghurt (made using home grown plums, foraged blackberries and Alpro Soya Natural Yoghurt).

Right, time to check out the WIAW party. Hope to see you there!  xx

9 Comments

Filed under Baking & Desserts, Breakfast and Elevenses, Dinners

9 responses to “WIAW Party – I’ll bring noodles

  1. How exciting that you joined the WIAW party…tons of fun and yes tons of food to drool over. The stir fry looks phenomenal.

  2. your porridge looks so good! perfect breakfast for the Fall and Winter season! 🙂

  3. Markio

    Porridge; looks good enough for Goldilocks and we all know how picky she can be. I’m going to try it with Goji Berries tomorrow.

  4. All your food is making me drool! The soup looks delicious, although I still find watercress a bit overpowering, even in soup form.

    • Hi Sarah. Thanks so much for your comments!
      I add a couple of potatoes and leeks to the watercress and stock. This seems to completely change the taste of the watercress. It doesn’t taste peppery at all. It’s definitely worth another try! I’ll post the recipe when I get a spare moment x

  5. I love alpro!! You’re so lucky you live in Bath- what a lovely city!! Looking off into the hills as you take the train into the station is so calming.
    I love oats and your picture is fine- actually I think it is quite good indeed. What health benefits does nettle tea have?

  6. hm, this noodle dish is just a perfect dinner since its getting colder and I feel like my body needs a little bit more warming filling food after a long day of running around.

I'd love to hear from you!

