My Starry Soundtrack to Summer 2011

I’ve just been putting the finishing touches to my summer soundtrack and what happens… it’s starts tipping it down with rain. 😦  According to the weather forecast we’re due rain for the next 3 WEEKS!  Let’s hope they’ve got it wrong.  Anyway whatever the weather, I’m going to crank up the summer tunes and pretend it’s still summer… well, for at least another week anyhow 😉

Is there anyone else out there that loves bouncing around the kitchen and singing at the top of their voice while they cook?  Surely I’m not the only one! Come on, own up! What songs get you bouncing round the kitchen? Is there one song in particular that sums up your summer 2011?  If so, I’d love to hear what it is.

There are 15 songs on my Summer Soundtrack, but if I had to pick the one that reminds me most of this summer, it would be first one.  As soon as the CD arrived in the post, Lil’ L and I stuck it in the stereo, selected this track, and danced around the living room like maniacs, singing along at the tops of our voices lol!  It’s also been played a lot in the kitchen, and A LOT of times on the 10+ hour journeys to and from France this summer. 

Although I’ve numbered my top summer tracks, they are in no particular order. I LOVE them all. 🙂

SOUNDTRACK to SUMMER 2011

1. Calvin Harris – Stars Come Out (Ready for the Weekend)


[]
2. Faithless – Sun to Me (The Dance)
I love this song.  Very cool video too


 
3. Magnetic Man – Boiling Water (feat Sam Frank) (Magnetic Man)
Beautiful track! I love Sam’s voice.
 

[]
4. Katy B – On a Mission (On a Mission)
We went to see Katy B earlier this year and it was a very memorable night. Every single person in the Bristol O2 Academy was getting their groove on, including Katy herself.  That girl has so much energy! 


[]
5. Chase & Status – Blind Faith (No More Idols)
This sent shivers down my spine the first time I heard it.   


[]
6. DJ Fresh – Louder (ft Sian Evans)
Check out those skaters! 


[]
7. Chris Brown & Benny Benassi – Beautiful People
Beautiful!


[]
8. Inna – Sun is Up
Great summer tune. OMG this girl is so sexy!!  I don’t want to damage your eyes, so try listening without watching 😉


[]
9. Rizzle Kicks – Down with the Trumpets
Every time I hear this tune my head starts nodding, then the body starts bouncing.  I’m down with you Rizzle Kicks 😉


[]
10. Ray Foxx (ft Lovelle) – La Musica (The Trumpeter)
This tune really does scream SUMMER!!!


[]
11. Katy B – Power on Me (On a Mission)
I don’t think Katy’s released this as a single yet, but it’s a fantastic tune to get your groove on to.  I love the whole album.  It’s been played A LOT in my kitchen 🙂

 
[]
12. Ellie Goulding – Starry Eyed
Gorgeous song!  It’s quite old, but fits my summer 2011 soundtrack perfectly. I can’t help singing along to it 😉  Great video too.


[]
13. Calvin Harris (ft Kelis) – Bounce
Great tune to bounce along to.  Lil’ L sings along every time he hears it on the radio.  It will very much remind me of summer 2011.


[]
14. Will.I.Am – Star 
This summer, stars feature a lot in my soundtrack.  I love anything that sparkles 😉  This is one of my favourite tunes of all time.

and finally…

15. Calvin Harris – Feel so Close
Another great tune to bounce along to.  


[]
Time to crank up the stereo and get creative.  I’ve got A LOT of baking to do this month 😉

6 Comments

Filed under Soundtracks

6 responses to “My Starry Soundtrack to Summer 2011

  1. I love the music selections (most of them I haven’t heard of before, but I like introductions to new stuff). I love cranking up the music and cleaning the house, I find with baking I forget to turn it on and then I am usually too messy to do so once I remember.
    One of my favorite songs this summer, although it is a naughty one, is Rhianna “S&M.”
    I can’t wait to see what creations your crank out with your tunes cranked up 🙂

    • Ooo I know that one. It’s caused some controversy over here as Radio 1 deemed the title too rude and changed it to something like ‘Come On’. Apparently Rhianna wasn’t informed about the change and wasn’t happy at all lol! Great tune whatever the title!

  2. David Green

    Heehee. Don’t recognise ANY of them! Gawd I must be old. LOL 🙂

    It’s A Beautiful Day 🙂 :

    • Beautiful!!! The first version brought a tear to my eye lol! I must check out some more old music. Maybe I’ll have a retro Autumn soundtrack 🙂 Thanks so much for sharing this x

  3. Thank you for the lovely comment on my blog! Also, thanks for sharing these tunes – there were a lot that must have passed me by this summer, but I loved them!

  4. Markio

    Blind Faith has to be played loud enough to rattle the car windows for the full effect; the volume is about right when it makes the hairs on the back of your neck stand up!
    When it comes to Romanian Pop I’ll trade Inna for Alexandra Stan’s Mr Saxobeat. But don’t tell the blokes that I listen to pop…

I'd love to hear from you!

